Fixing Office 2013 1920 Error during OSD on Windows 10 Technical Preview

I have been playing with the Windows 10 Technical Preview this week and I ran into an obscure error when trying to install Office 2013 as part of my Deployment Task Sequence in SCCM. The Office 2013 setup.exe returned a 1920 error when deploying the Task Sequence to Virtual Machines (Physical were fine). The Office Setup log reports the following error:

Error 1920. Service ‘Windows Font Cache Service’ (FontCache) failed to start. Verify that you have sufficient privileges to start system services.

Taking a closer look I could see the service was in a stopped state and I could not start it manually…that was until I restarted 🙂  Even with Office being the first Application installation in the Task Sequence it would fail. So if you are installing Office 2013 on the Win 10 TP you need to make sure you add an additional restart immediately before the Office installation step.

 

One thought on “Fixing Office 2013 1920 Error during OSD on Windows 10 Technical Preview

  1. I upgraded to Windows 10, now my Office 2013, excel won’t open an excel file, constantly getting an error file is corrupt, I am able to open the same file in Office 2013 but using another machine that is on Windows 7 that I have not upgraded. I am also able to open CSV files with not problem, only a regular excel file or workbook.

Speak your mind...

